Where Did Spring Go???

Spring is officially here. Despite the astronomical calendar telling me so, I didn’t quite believe it till I wore a coat, jumper and jeans outside and had my entire body engulfed by a damp bubble of heat. At first I was annoyed by the abrupt arrival of the season. Wasn’t it winter yesterday? Irritably, I began my heavy trudge up my hill, weighed down by the four sticky layers of clothing clinging to my body. Attractive.

Now aware of its presence, I realised I should probably start dressing for spring. When I got home, I threw on a T-shirt and shorts, relieved to shake off my stuffy jumper and feel the cold fabric against my skin. When I ventured outside again the next day, the sun was not a scorching warning on my face, but a whispered promise that life would soon be sweeter. Its rays splintered through the trees and cast patchy shadows on the ground for me to walk through. The long-forgotten buzz of grass being sliced by lawn mowers resonated through the air and reminded me how happy spring made me feel.

This morning, I bounced out of bed and flung open my curtains, expecting a golden sea of light to pour into my bedroom. Instead, I was met with a grumpy grey sky hiding behind a mass of clouds. Disappointed, I went outside to see whether I could salvage any warmth from my surroundings. My walk was okay, but it felt like somebody had turned my peppy life soundtrack off and replaced it with a melancholy guitar solo instead. The flowers were still pretty, but their colours didn’t jump out at me the way they did yesterday.

I didn’t realise how much I’d missed the warm weather until it teased me yesterday. How do I get it back? And when I do catch it, how do I make it stay? Can any of you help me with this? According to the weather forecast, it isn’t coming back any time soon. Would it be quicker to just fly to another country? Please leave me your tips and advice below, I’m desperate. Thank you.

Thanks for reading,

ranterwrites xo

Leave a Reply

